Skip to Specific Areas

Search ARC website

Site Navigation

Main Content

Breadcrumb Navigation

You are here:

Executive Directors

Dr Fiona Cameron

Dr Fiona Cameron

Executive Director for Biological Sciences and Biotechnology
Phone: +61 2 6287 6600

Dr Fiona Cameron joined the ARC in July 2012 as Executive Director for Biological Sciences and Biotechnology. Prior to this, Dr Cameron led the Innovation & Consulting Unit at the University of Western Sydney (UWS) as the Associate Director. In this role, she worked closely with the University Executive, academics, active researchers and the University Research Office at UWS to identify opportunities to protect, develop and commercialise Intellectual Property and to build relationships with Industry and Government.

Between 1986 and 2007 Dr Cameron worked at the CSIRO, where she was appointed a Principal Research Scientist of its Division of Molecular Science, and a member of the executive team of the CSIRO National Research Food Futures Flagship. Dr Cameron was also a key developer of the CSIRO Nanotechnology Centre. Active in gene control research, Dr Cameron's work at CSIRO included the development of molecules for better gene delivery into cells and gene therapy.

Being heavily involved in commercially funded medical research, Dr Cameron's most recent publications take the form of a suite of patents.

Dr Cameron originally trained at the University of Sydney and the Australian National University. She was awarded a Doctor of Philosophy in 1990 from Macquarie University, having studied the regulation of gene control using engineered ribonucleic acids.


Professor Marian Simms

Professor Marian Simms

Executive Director, Social, Behavioural and Economic Sciences
Phone: +61 2 6287 6600

Professor Marian Simms joined the ARC in August 2011 as Executive Director for Social, Behavioural and Economic Sciences.

Prior to this, Professor Simms held the position of Head of the School of History, Heritage and Society at Deakin University from 2009-2011 and Chair in Australian Studies. Other appointments include Chair in Political Studies at the University of Otago, New Zealand, 2002-2009 (Head 2002-2007); and Reader in Political Science ANU, 1994-2002. She is an honours graduate of the ANU in History and Political Science, with a PhD in Politics from La Trobe University.

Professor Simms has an international reputation in the fields of gender studies and political science derived from a strong publication record and a history of grants and awards. She has published 5 authored and co-authored books, 9 edited and co-edited books, and over 80 articles and chapters. She has received research grants from the ARC, the NSW Sesquicentenary Committee, the National Committee for the Centenary of Federation and the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization. She was also awarded a Fulbright Fellowship at the University of Southern California and holds a Centenary of Federation medal for her research on the 1901 Election.

She has been active in the administration and evaluation of research. From 2005-2009 she served as the inaugural convenor of the Humanities Research Cluster on Political Communication, Policy and Participation at the University of Otago. The Cluster sponsored research on political communication in British, Australian and New Zealand elections, research workshops for postgraduates, public lectures and a number of high profile visitors. From 2003-2006 she was the Chair of the International Political Science Association’s Research Committee on Gender, Globalization and Democratization. She was invited by the Swedish Research Council to chair the process for selecting and evaluating new centres of research excellence in 2006 and 2008. She served two terms as a member of the Social Science panel of the Performance Based Research Funding Evaluation in New Zealand (equivalent of Australia’s ERA).

Professor Simms is past President of the Australian Political Studies Association, and co-editor of the Australian Journal of Political Science.


ProfessorBrian Yates

Professor Brian Yates

Executive Director for Engineering, Mathematics and Information Sciences
Phone: +61 2 6287 6600

Professor Brian Yates joined the ARC in January 2013 as Executive Director for Engineering, Mathematics and Information Sciences. Prior to this, he was a Professor in Chemistry and Deputy Chair of the Academic Senate at the University of Tasmania, where he has worked since 1989. He is also an Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) Discipline Scholar in Science.

Professor Yates completed postdoctoral fellowships at the University of California, Berkeley and the University of Georgia before joining the University of Tasmania in 1989. His research has been supported by grants from the Australian Research Council and he has served as a member of the ARC College of Experts (Physics, Chemistry and Earth Sciences panel).

Professor Brian Yates headed up an active research program in computational chemistry with particular applications to organometallic, inorganic and organic chemistry. He has published over 140 papers. He sat on the board of the National Computational Infrastructure, which provides national supercomputing resources for researchers across Australia.

Professor Yates has also built up a strong reputation for teaching excellence. He has been awarded competitively funded teaching development grants at the national and state levels, and he has been rewarded with local and national teaching excellence awards (the 2006 Carrick Australian Award for University Teaching Excellence in Physical Sciences, the 2007 Medal of the Chemical Education Division of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute, and the 2010 Vice-Chancellor's Individual Citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning from the University of Tasmania).

In 2010 he was appointed an ALTC Discipline Scholar in Science and worked in partnership with Professor Susan Jones to facilitate the development of a set of nationally agreed learning and teaching academic standards in Science higher education. These Threshold Learning Outcomes for Science were endorsed by the Australian Council of Deans of Science in 2011 and a number of implementation projects are continuing.



Content Last Modified: 18/03/14

Top of page