Skip to Specific Areas

Search ARC website

Site Navigation

Main Content

Breadcrumb Navigation

You are here:


Media Release


Tuesday, 27 March 2012


Four Australian Research Council fellows have been honoured for their outstanding contributions to science by being admitted as fellows of the Australian Academy of Science.
ARC CEO Professor Margaret Sheil congratulated all 21 new Australian Academy of Science fellows on their election and wished them well in their research endeavours.
“I am particularly pleased to see the election of Professor Frances Separovic to the Academy. Professor Separovic is the first female chemist elected as a fellow of the Academy and as another female chemist, I congratulate her on this great achievement,” Professor Sheil said.

The four ARC fellows are:

Professor Joss Bland-Hawthorn FAA
, 2007 ARC Federation Fellow, University of Sydney. Pioneering the science of astrophotonics and making significant contributions to experimental physics and astrophysics.

Professor Paul Leslie Burn FAA,
 2006 ARC Federation Fellow, University of Queensland. Discovering light emitting polymers and dendrimers leading to worldwide interest in organic semiconductors.

Professor Tanya Mary Monro FAA FTSE
, 2008 ARC Federation Fellow, University of Adelaide. Developing nanophotonics for nonlinear optics and sensing, resulting in novel solutions to diverse measurement problems.

Professor Michael Edmund Tobar FAA FTSE
, 2009 Australian Laureate Fellow, University of Western Australia. Pioneering the development of devices for precision frequency generation and measurement, including in space.

"I am delighted these four outstanding scientists have been recognised through their election to the Australian Academy of Science. And I am confident their admission to the Academy will help them boost their research efforts, leading to discoveries and developments that could improve the way we live our lives," Professor Sheil said.

All 21 scientists will be admitted to the Australian Academy of Science on 2 May 2012. For a full list of scientists and for more information on the Australian Academy of Science fellowships, visit

For more information on ARC fellowships, visit

Media contact
ARC Stakeholder Relations - 02 62876711 / 0412 623 056 /
Further information about the ARC is at