National ICT Australia

National ICT Australia (NICTA) was established in 2002 to build capacity and strengthen investment in strategic information and communications technology (ICT) research, and improve Australia's ability to fully capture the productivity and transformational benefits that ICT capability can deliver. NICTA has been developed as a world-class and world-scale ICT research institute, raising the standard of ICT research and post-graduate training in Australia.

NICTA is funded jointly by the Australian Research Council (ARC) and the Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy. NICTA will receive a total of $606.5 million in funding from the ARC and the Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy between 2002 and 2016. 

NICTA’s member organisations are:

  • Australian Capital Territory Government
  • New South Wales Government
  • The Australian National University
  • The University of Melbourne
  • The University of New South Wales
  • Victorian Government.

NICTA’s partner organisations are:

  • Griffith University
  • Macquarie University
  • Queensland Government
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • The University of Adelaide
  • The University of Queensland
  • The University of Sydney
  • University of Technology Sydney.

NICTA has established key ICT research infrastructure at five research laboratories located in Sydney (two), Canberra, Melbourne and Brisbane.

For more information, please visit the NICTA website.

National ICT Australia Fact Sheet
PDF Format (265KB) – Word Format (156KB)