Find out about upcoming events for the ARC and events in the research sector supported by the ARC.

Here we promote current news, upcoming events, calls for nominations and opening of applications across the research sector. Please find below, events listed for the year 2017.

Please note, events that involve any of the ARC's Centre of Excellences are marked with this icon  An ARC Centre of Excellence Event icon


February 2017


UIIN Asia–Pacific Conference on University–Industry Engagement
Adelaide—15–17 February 2017

The University Industry Innovation Network (UIIN) is holding its inaugural Asia-Pacific Conference on University-Industry Engagement. The conference attracts a broad audience, including academics, researchers, practitioners, policymakers and business representatives involved in university-industry interaction, innovation and entrepreneurship. The program provides an opportunity to meet peers from all over the world and interact, share knowledge, and establish new contacts. Registrations are open.

Applications Open image

Applications open for Australia’s sci-tech research accelerator—ON, powered by CSIRO

30 January–24 February 2017

Working on some promising sci-tech research?

Take it from idea to impact with ON Prime—a free pre-accelerator experience tailor-made for Australia’s brightest researchers and powered by CSIRO.

What is ON Prime?

ON Prime is a free part-time pre-accelerator, designed to help research teams take their ideas to the next level.  Over 8 weeks (5 face-to-face sessions in total), participants will test paths for their IP, know-how or technology through a process of customer discovery and market validation, and build their entrepreneurial and business model capabilities to ensure they are working on the right problems, targeting the right markets and capitalising on the best opportunities.

ON Prime is open to researchers from all Australian publicly funded research agencies and universities, and their teams—and the good news is that all IP and equity remains the property of the participating research team or sponsoring institute. Several ON Prime experiences will be delivered simultaneously across Australia from April 2017, in locations dependant on applicant demand.

If you’re working on some promising research and are trying to establish a real world application for it, fast-track it with ON Prime.

Applications open 30 January 2017 at

Be quick, applications close 24 February 2017.

Video with testimonials from previous participants of ON Prime:



Australian Museum Eureka Prizes

Nominations open 10 February 2017.
Entries close 7.00pm AEST, 5 May 2017

The 2017 Eureka Prizes opens for nominations on 10 February 2017. Entries close 7.00pm AEST, 5 May 2017.

Known as the ‘Oscars of Australian science’, the Australian Museum Eureka Prizes celebrate research, science communication and journalism, leadership, and students.

Previous recipients have included ARC-funded researchers.

Finalists will be announced online on 28 July 2017, and winners at a gala dinner on 30 August 2017.

For more information about prize categories and how to enter, visit the Australian Museum website.


March 2017


Robotic Vision Summer School

Kioloa, NSW—12 March–17 March 2017

The ability to see is the remaining technological roadblock to the deployment of robots into society. The Australian Centre for Robotic Vision’s Robotic Vision Summer School 2017 provides a premium venue for graduate students and industry researchers to learn about fundamental and advanced topics in computer vision and robotics. The summer school also provides a unique opportunity to experiment with computer vision algorithms on actual robotic hardware. The program incorporates both talks and practical sessions run by world leading researchers in robotics and computer vision. In addition, there will be ample free time during the summer school for attendees to collaborate on research projects or explore the Kioloa surroundings. Registrations close 27 January 2017.