ARC media release general header

12 June 2008

ARC seeks sector's views on journal rankings for ERA initiative

The Australian Research Council (ARC) has today launched a consultation period on a draft journal rankings list, one of the indicators that will be used on a discipline-specific basis to evaluate research as part of the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) initiative.

Research outlets are ranked into four tiers (A*, A, B and C) on the basis of the overall quality that each has for a particular discipline.

ARC Chief Executive Officer, Professor Margaret Sheil said that this is the second phase on the journal rankings. In late 2007, the four Learned Academies and a number of peak bodies, undertook the initial journal ranking exercise to develop this draft for their relevant disciplines. 

"More than 19,000 unique peer reviewed journals have been identified to form the draft list of ranked journals.

"It is worth noting that journals of Australian origin are well represented in the top tiers of the draft rankings.

"This is an important process to ensure that the higher education and research sectors will have confidence in the rankings that will be used as part of the ERA initiative," Professor Sheil said.

Submissions will close on Thursday 24 July, 2008. More information is available from the ARC website.

The ARC will release the final journal ranking list once all submissions have been considered.


Media contact:
Dinah Bryant, Australian Research Council
communications[@] or 02 6287 6711