ARC Media release general header

21 March 2018

ERA 2018 Research Evaluation Committee Chairs Announced 

Australian Research Council (ARC) Chief Executive Officer, Professor Sue Thomas, has today announced the appointment of eight Research Evaluation Committee (REC) chairpersons who will perform a key role in the 2018 round of Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA). 

“I am delighted to announce the appointment of a distinguished group of researchers, who will undertake the role of REC Chairs for ERA 2018. They each bring outstanding experience and expertise which will ensure that ERA 2018 evaluations are of the highest standard,” said Professor Thomas.

The REC Chairs for ERA 2018 are:

A brief biography for each of the above researchers is available on the ARC website.

Professor Thomas also acknowledged the continuing and significant contribution of the sector to ERA.

“The ARC has received a substantial number of nominations, from Australian and overseas researchers across a range of disciplines, for membership of the 2018 RECs. We are currently finalising the composition of the RECs, to ensure the strongest possible membership for ERA 2018.”

An announcement of the full membership is expected to be made over the next month.

The ERA 2018 evaluation round opened for submissions on 19 March 2018. For more information, visit Excellence in Research for Australia.


Media contact
ARC Stakeholder Relations             
0412 623 056