Dr Mary Kelly

Executive Director for Biological Sciences and Biotechnology

Phone: +61 2 6287 6600

Dr Mary Kelly joined the ARC in February 2020 as Executive Director for Biological Sciences and Biotechnology. 

Prior to this, Dr Kelly has served as an Adjunct Executive Director for the ARC. In 2019 Dr Kelly was inaugural Director of the Centre for Entrepreneurial Agri-Technology, a joint initiative of the Australian National University and the CSIRO, and from 2015 to 2018 Dr Kelly was Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, Development and Industry at Charles Sturt University. 

Dr Kelly’s research background is grounded in biochemistry and microbiology with a PhD in Microbiology from the University of Georgia where she was a Fulbright Scholar, followed by a Conway Research Fellowship and Health Research Board Research Fellowship at University College Dublin. Over the last two decades Dr Kelly has established her career in research, research management and senior executive management both in Ireland and Australia.

Driven by a constant desire to contribute to an ecosystem that can maximise the potential for research impact, the return on research investment and the establishment of high-achieving research career pathways, Dr Kelly has worked in multiple sectors: within the Higher Education sector in both research and innovation roles; within the Not-For-Profit sector at the Australian-American Fulbright Commission; and, within the Australian Public Service while at the ARC from 2009 to 2014. 

Mentorship, collaboration and diversity of roles has underpinned Dr Kelly’s career to date. Experience gained on international assessment panels, with Boards, as a Graduate of the AICD, with start-ups and regional communities, and within Australia’s food and agriculture ecosystem, are just some of the perspectives which she now brings to the role of Executive Director.  

Dr Robert Mun

Executive Director, Engineering and Information Sciences

Phone: +61 2 6287 6600

Dr Robert Mun joined the ARC in May 2018 as Executive Director for Engineering and Information Sciences.

Dr Mun has a strong technical background as a researcher, and has had an extensive career in the Australian Government. Prior to joining the ARC, Dr Mun was Branch Head at the Defence Science and Technology Group with the Australian Department of Defence, and previously was Scientific Advisor to Navy and to the Defence Material Organisation, and Senior Scientist leading systems engineering research, also with the Department of Defence. With research expertise commencing in the area of fluid mechanics, through his subsequent Australian Government roles, his experience has extended to complex systems integration, focusing on the integration and networking of multiple Defence systems. His research team’s specialty was including the human element within the engineering solution.

Throughout his career, Dr Mun has been involved in working with a wide range of national and international research specialists, incorporating multiple technologies into emerging solutions. This work has included managing Defence capability demonstrator grant programs.

Dr Mun has authored numerous Australian Government reports, and has contributed to a wide range of policy and capability outcomes. Prior to joining the Australian Government, he published numerous journal and book articles on fluid mechanics.

Professor Joanne Tompkins

Executive Director, Humanities and Creative Arts 
Phone: +61 2 6287 6600

Professor Joanne Tompkins joined the ARC in April 2017 as Executive Director for Humanities and Creative Arts.

Prior to commencing at the ARC, Professor Tompkins was Associate Dean (Research) in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences at The University of Queensland (UQ) and was previously Head of the School of English, Media Studies and Art History at UQ.

Professor Tompkins’ research expertise lies in the humanities and creative arts, particularly in spatial theories and virtual reality; multicultural theories and drama; intercultural performance and feminist performance. Her research has assisted the development of cultural spaces for theatres, galleries and museums through 3D visualisation and modelling of theatre spaces.

In 2015, Professor Tompkins was the recipient of an Honorary Doctorate from Queen Mary, University of London. Professor Tompkins also holds a Doctor of Philosophy in Literature from York University, Toronto, Canada (1992) and a Master of Arts from the University of Waterloo, Canada (1986).

Professor Tompkins has authored numerous books, and journal and book articles on: spatial theory and virtual reality; post-colonial, multicultural, and intercultural drama and theory; Australian drama and literature and Canadian drama. She has also edited and co-edited several journals, including Theatre Journal and Modern Drama.