Linkage Projects 2020 Round 3 Announcement Banner

Distinguished Professor Craig T. Simmons FAA FTSE

Professor Craig Simmons
Executive Director for Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Earth Sciences

Distinguished Professor Craig Simmons FAA FTSE joined the ARC in July 2020 as Executive Director for Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Earth Sciences. 

Professor Simmons is Matthew Flinders Distinguished Professor of Hydrogeology and Inaugural Schultz Chair in the Environment at Flinders University. Prior to commencing at the ARC, Professor Simmons was Foundation Director of the National Centre for Groundwater Research and Training, founded as an ARC Centre of Excellence. He was also Pro Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Research Projects) at Flinders University. He is an Honorary Professor at The Australian National University (ANU). 

Professor Simmons is an internationally renowned Earth Scientist who has made significant discoveries about groundwater using theory, experiment and computational simulation. His work is answering critical questions about our environment, food and water security, coal seam gas and fracking, mining, energy and nuclear waste disposal.  Professor Simmons has an honours degree in engineering, in addition to a degree in theoretical and experimental physics. He holds a PhD in hydrology, with an emphasis on mathematical modelling. 

Professor Simmons is recognised for major national and international contributions to groundwater science, science leadership, education and policy reform. He is Chair of the Australian Government’s Alligator Rivers Region Technical Committee (ARRTC), which provides the Commonwealth Government with advice on Ranger Uranium Mine in world-heritage-listed Kakadu National Park. He is a member of the Australian Government’s Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Coal Seam Gas and Large Coal Mining Development (IESC). 

Professor Simmons is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, and the American Geophysical Union. His work has been recognised by numerous national and international research and teaching awards including the Anton Hales Medal for distinguished research in the Earth Sciences by the Australian Academy of Science and an Australian Award for University Teaching. He was named the 2015 South Australian Scientist of the Year and the 2017 Australian Water Professional of the Year. He is a 2017 Convocation Medallist of Flinders University and a 2017 Biennial Medallist of the Modelling and Simulation Society of Australia and New Zealand

Back to top