To support the review, the ARC and ABS are conducting a series of consultations with Australian stakeholders. A parallel process is being undertaken in New Zealand by MBIE and Stats NZ, with the results of both consultations informing the development of the revised ANZSRC.

From 25 February to 7 June 2019, the ARC, ABS, Stats NZ and MBIE undertook public consultation regarding the ANZSRC review. This included the publication of a Discussion Paper which set out the purpose and scope of the review, and provided a number of questions to guide discussion. The Discussion Paper can be downloaded in PDF format (1.29MB) and Word format (1.09MB). Details about submissions to this consultation are outlined below.

In addition to public consultation, targeted consultations will be organised to actively seek advice and input from stakeholders. 

Following this consultation period, the ANZSRC Review Steering Committee will consider feedback and a draft revised ANZSRC will be developed. It is anticipated that this draft will be made available for public comment in the final quarter of 2019, before the updated ANZSRC is published in 2020.

If you have questions or wish to comment on the ANZSRC Review, please email


The ARC and ABS received 214 Australian submissions from individuals and organisations in response to the ANZSRC Review Discussion Paper. At the request of the authors, a number of submissions have not been published. Further submissions were received by Stats NZ and the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE); further details can be found on the MBIE web page.

The submissions published on this page are owned by the relevant organisations and individuals, and as such they are responsible for the factual accuracy of these documents at the time of publishing. The views contained in these submissions represent the views of the authors and are not necessarily those of the Australian Research Council or the Australian Government. For use of material in submissions please see the ARC’s Copyright Statement.

If you require a different format or you are having trouble accessing the information contained within these public submissions please send an email to