Steering Committee

The ANZSRC Review Steering Committee comprises members from the four Australian and New Zealand Government agencies responsible for the review. The role of the Steering Committee is to oversee the review, encourage implementation of the revised ANZSRC, and manage project governance. The ABS and Stats NZ will be jointly responsible for formal adoption of the revised ANZSRC.

The members of the Steering Committee are:

  • Mr Tom Joseph, Program Manager, Business Indicators, Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) (Chair)
  • Ms Eileen Basher, General Manager, Evidence and Insights, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE)
  • Ms Becky Collett, Senior Manager, Data Standards and Design, Stats NZ
  • Ms Sarah Howard, Branch Manager, Research Excellence, Australian Research Council (ARC)

Expert Reference Group

The role of the Expert Reference Group is to provide expert technical advice on statistical and research classifications to the ARC, ABS and the ANZSRC Review Steering Committee. Disciplinary expertise will be accessed through direct consultations with peak bodies, individual researchers and other relevant stakeholders.

The members of the Expert Reference Group are: 

  • Ms Sarah Howard, Branch Manager, Research Excellence, Australian Research Council (Chair)
  • Ms Helen Baird, Director, Standards and Classifications, Australian Bureau of Statistics
  • Dr Sophie Biesenbender, Researcher, German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies (DZHW)
  • Mr Rowan Brownlee, Data Specialist, Australian Research Data Commons Ltd (ARDC)
  • Ms Ariadne Legendre, Senior Data Analyst, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada
  • Mr Duncan Loxton, Data Curator, Scholarly Communication, University of Technology Sydney
  • Ms Carolyn Shrives, Branch Manager, Research Policy & Programs, Department of Education
  • Mr David Turvey, A/g Head of Division & Chief Economist, Analysis and Insights, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
  • Ms Sue-Ellen Luke, Director, Technology Innovation and Business Characteristics Statistics, Australian Bureau of Statistics