The ARC has released the ERA 2018 Journal List

There are 25,017 journals included in the list. For each journal, the list includes:

  • ERA ID (unique to each Journal)
  • Journal title
  • Foreign title (where relevant)
  • Up to three Field of Research (FoR) codes or ‘MD’ for multidisciplinary journals
  • ISSN(s)

Purpose of the ERA 2018 Journal List

The ERA 2018 Journal List was developed for the sole purpose of supporting the ERA 2018 evaluation. It was released to eligible Australian universities in August 2017 to support their submission process.

This list defines the journals that are eligible for institutions’ ERA 2018 submissions – that is, scholarly, peer reviewed journals that publish original research and were active during the ERA 2018 reference period for research outputs (1 January 2011 – 31 December 2016).

The journal list forms an integral part of the ERA evaluation process and provides components used in the ERA 2018 methodology, including:

  • defining the eligible Fields of Research (FoR) codes that research outputs may be assigned during the submission phase; and
  • defining the outlets from which the citation benchmarks are derived.

Eligibility criteria

For inclusion in the ERA 2018 Journal List, the journal had to meet all of the following criteria:

  • academic/scholarly
  • publish original peer reviewed research
  • have one or more ISSNs
  • have been published during the ERA 2018 reference period for research outputs.

Fields of Research codes (FoRs)

Each journal is assigned to one or more disciplines defined by Fields of Research (FoR) codes. FoRs are defined by the Australian and New Zealand Standard Research Classification (ANZSRC) 2008, which was developed by the Australian Bureau of Statistics and Statistics New Zealand. More information about the ANZSRC and how to obtain the full list of FoR codes can be found here:

The FoR codes assigned to particular journals were determined as a result of university consultation and the feedback received from peak bodies and disciplinary groups. Information about the university consultation on the ERA 2018 Journal List is available from the ERA Consultations page.

The FoRs assigned to each journal in the ERA 2018 Journal List are not listed in order of relevance or importance. When filtering the list, please note that:

  • The FoR(s) of interest to you may be located in either the FoR 1, FoR 2 or FoR 3 column.
  • A journal may be assigned two-digit FoRs or four-digit FoRs.

Two-digit and Multidisciplinary reassigned journals

Where the subject matter of journals is sufficiently broad to cover more than three four-digit FoR codes, the journal has been assigned two-digit FoR codes in the ERA 2018 Journal List (or coded ‘MD’ – Multidisciplinary – where the journal content covers more than three two-digit FoRs).

Two-digit FoR codes are inclusive of all of their related four-digit FoR codes. Analysis of previous ERA submission data shows that while the majority of two-digit and multidisciplinary journals published articles across a broad range of FoR codes, a small number published a significant proportion of articles in particular four-digit FoR codes, i.e., they behaved like discipline-specific journals. 

The number of two-digit FoR and multidisciplinary coded journals that behaved in a disciplinary manner for ERA 2018 was small, with 170 journals remapped to be included in benchmarks. This represents 5% (170 of the 3447) of the two-digit FoR and multidisciplinary coded journals in the ERA 2018 Journal List in citation disciplines.