31 October 2013

ARC-funded researchers' dedication rewarded at 2013 PM's Prizes for Science 

Australian Research Council (ARC) Chief Executive Officer, Professor Aidan Byrne, has congratulated the five winners of the 2103 Prime Minister's Prizes for Science and thanked them for the valuable contribution they have made—and continue to make—toward the advancement of science and research in Australia.

Professor Byrne extended special congratulations to three recipients who have received ARC funding throughout their careers to support their research, and to those recipients who through their teaching have demonstrated the importance of developing the next generation of researchers. The ARC also featured in the opening presentation on the night, displaying the variety of important research undertaken through funding by the ARC.

Professor Terry Speed from the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research received the 2013 Prime Minister's Prize for Science, Associate Professor Andrea Morello from the ARC Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology at UNSW received the Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year, and Associate Professor Angela Moles from UNSW's Evolution and Ecology Research Centre received the Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year.

"Statistician Professor Terry Speed has received the overall Prime Minister's Prize for Science for his outstanding achievements in applying statistical techniques to genetics. Currently head of Bioinformatics at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Professor Speed is helping to develop new techniques in medical research, with a specific focus on cancer. Professor Speed previously received funding as a Partner Investigator with the ARC Centre of Excellence for Kangaroo Genomics," Professor Byrne said.

"Associate Professor Morello's award acknowledges his significant contribution as Chief Investigator at the ARC-funded Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology. The centre is making major inroads into making quantum computing a reality, which will radically transform the security and capability of computing around the world.

"Associate Professor Moles' award acknowledges her continued contribution to science, challenging existing paradigms in the field of ecology—her recent ARC-funded research has involved visiting 75 different ecosystems around the world as a part of the World Herbivory Project, collecting and interpreting ecological data. She has received funding for two ARC Discovery Projects grants, ARC Linkage Infrastructure, Equipment and Facilities funding, an Australian Postdoctoral Fellowship in 2004 and a 2009 Queen Elizabeth II Fellowship.

"I am delighted that these dedicated researchers, proudly supported by the ARC during their careers, have had their dedication and commitment to their respective fields rewarded in such a prestigious way. All five winners were extremely worthy recipients."

For more information about all prize winners, visit the Prime Minister's Prizes for Science website. For more information about the ARC and the funding schemes mentioned above, visit the ARC website.

Media contact:
ARC Stakeholder Relations
0412 623 056 or communications@arc.gov.au