29 August 2019

ARC-funded researchers feature strongly in the 2019 Eureka Prizes

Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Research Council (ARC), Professor Sue Thomas, congratulates the 2019 winners of the Australian Museum Eureka Prizes, including those who have been supported by ARC funding to carry out their outstanding research, delivering knowledge, outcomes and impacts of benefit to all Australians.

The Eureka Prizes, presented annually, highlight the very best of Australian science in the categories of: scientific research and innovation; science leadership; science communication and journalism; and school science. 

Professor Thomas said the recipients this year included those who have received ARC funding and fellowships from the Australian Government through the ARC’s National Competitive Grants Program, contributing towards their outstanding research outcomes.

“It’s wonderful to see so many ARC-funded researchers recognised in the 2019 Eureka Prizes for their significant research outcomes and research leadership,” said Professor Thomas. 

ARC-funded researchers were again this year strongly represented among the winners of the majority of categories, including: 

  • ARC Future Fellowship recipient, Associate Professor Kerrylee Rogers from the University Of Wollongong, as part of the Blue Carbon Team, collaborating with researchers from Macquarie University and ANSTO, received the Eureka Prize for Environmental Research, for their study that found coastal wetlands capture more carbon as sea levels rise.
  • ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award recipient, Associate Professor Laura Mackay, from The University of Melbourne, received the Eureka Prize for Outstanding Early Career Researcher for her work discovering novel immune cells critical for immune protection against infection and cancer.
  • ARC Training Centre for Innovative BioEngineering director, Professor Hala Zreiqat from The University of Sydney leads the team that has received the Eureka Prize for Innovative Use of Technology, for work using mathematical modelling and customised 3D-printing of the world’s first synthetic biomaterials capable of healing large bone defects.
  • Multiple ARC grants recipient, Professor Michael Breadmore from The University of Tasmania, leads Team GreyScan, which received the Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia, for research to develop the world’s first trace detection device that can identify inorganic explosives in under a minute.
  • ARC Australian Laureate Fellow, Professor Branka Vucetic from The University of Sydney, received the Eureka Prize for Leadership in Innovation and Science for her research to increase capacity, data rates and reliability in wireless communications networks.
  • Multiple ARC grants recipient, Professor Mariapia Degli-Esposti and ARC Discovery Projects recipient, Dr Chris Andoniou from Monash University were part of the team that received the Eureka Prize for Scientific Research, for their work to develop a novel, non-toxic way to reduce the impact of infection that will lead to improved outcomes for transplant patients.
  • Multiple ARC Discovery Projects and Linkage Projects grant recipient, Professor Longbing Cao from the University of Technology Sydney, has received the Eureka Prize for Excellence in Data Science for his work to develop theories and systems to analyse real-life complex data for smarter business practices such as debt recovery and payment collection.
  • ARC Future Fellowship recipient, Associate Professor Wai-Hong Tham from the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, as part of the Vivax Malaria Research Team, received the Eureka Prize for Infectious Diseases Research for work to develop new diagnostics and vaccines to eliminate malaria.
  • Multiple Discovery Projects and Linkage Projects grants recipient, Professor Barry Pogson from The Australian National University, received the Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers for using a dynamic and sustainable multi-tiered mentoring approach to create a nexus of researchers, industry leaders and policy makers in his field.

“These researchers—and indeed all finalists and nominees in all categories—are making commendable contributions to science and research in Australia, with important and real benefits to our communities,” said Professor Thomas.

For more information about all 2019 Eureka Prize winners, visit the Australian Museum’s Eureka Prizes website.

For more information about the National Competitive Grants Program and ARC funding schemes, visit the ARC website.

Media contact:
ARC Stakeholder Relations, 0412 623 056 or communications@arc.gov.au.