31 August 2017

ARC-funded researchers shine at 2017 Eureka Prizes

Professor Sue Thomas, Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Research Council (ARC) congratulates the 2017 recipients of the Australian Museum Eureka Prizes.  

The Eureka Prizes are presented annually, and highlight the very best of Australian science in the four categories of: scientific research and innovation; science leadership; science communication and journalism; and school science.

Announced last night, the winners included a number of recipients who have received funding assistance from the ARC towards their research endeavours.

“I am delighted to see so many of our ARC-funded researchers recognised for their outstanding research outcomes and research leadership,” said Professor Thomas.

“These researchers—indeed all finalists in the Eureka Prizes—are making great strides and remarkable contributions to science and research in Australia.”

ARC-funded researchers featured among the awardees:

  • Professor Geoffrey Webb, an ARC-funded researcher at Monash University, received the University of Technology Sydney Eureka Prize for Excellence in Data Science for forging new avenues of data science research, which has had significant social and economic impact.
  • Alan Cooper, an ARC Australian Laureate Fellow at The University of Adelaide, led the Aboriginal Heritage Project which received the UNSW Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research for their project which is working in partnership with Aboriginal families and communities to reconstruct the map of Indigenous Australia using historical hair samples, and making a valuable contribution to the Reconciliation process.
  • Associate Professor Madhu Bhaskaran, an ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher at RMIT University, received the Macquarie University Eureka Prize for Outstanding Early Career Researcher for her research that is moving us closer to affordable and biocompatible electronic devices being an integral part of life and healthcare.
  • Professor Richard Mildren, an ARC Future Fellow at Macquarie University, received the Defence Science and Technology Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia for developing diamond-based technology that is capable of radically increasing the power and spectral range of lasers.
  • Professor Andrew Whitehouse, an ARC-funded researcher at The University of Western Australia, received the 3M Eureka Prize for Emerging Leader in Science for his national and international leadership on autism.
  • Professor Salah Sukkarieh, an ARC-funded researcher at The University of Sydney, received the CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Innovation and Science for successfully translating cutting-edge robotics and intelligent systems research into real-world applications.
  • Professor Justin Gooding, an ARC Australian Laureate Fellow at The University of New South Wales, received the University of Technology Sydney Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers for his program of individualised mentorship, which has trained and developed an all-new breed of research leader in bionanotechnology and nanomedicine.
  • Dr Emilie Ens, an ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher at Macquarie University, led the Ngukurr Wi Stadi bla Kantri (We Study the Country) Research Team who received the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science Eureka Prize for Innovation in Citizen Science for their unique collaboration between scientists and Aboriginal people in remote south-eastern Arnhem Land.
  • Professors Elena Ivanova and Saulius Juodkazis, ARC-funded researchers from Swinburne University of Technology, received the UNSW Eureka Prize for Scientific Research for a novel material able to kill the bacteria, Pseudomonas aeruginosa. 

For more information about all 2017 prize winners, visit the Australian Museum’s Eureka Prizes website. For more information about ARC funding schemes, visit the ARC website.

Media contact:
ARC Stakeholder Relations 
0412 623 056 or communications@arc.gov.au