7 November 2014

ERA 2015 Research Evaluation Committee Chairs announced

Professor Brian Yates, Acting Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Research Council (ARC), has today announced the appointment of the Research Evaluation Committee (REC) Chairs for ERA 2015. 

The Chairs for ERA 2015 RECs are:

Physical, Chemical and Earth Sciences

Professor Stephen Buckman
Australian National University

Humanities and Creative Arts

Emeritus Professor Graeme Turner
University of Queensland

Engineering and Environmental Sciences

Professor Hugh Possingham
University of Queensland

Education and Human Society

Professor Brenda Cherednichenko
Deakin University

Economics and Commerce

Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark
University of Melbourne

Mathematics, Information and Computing Sciences

Professor Leon Sterling
Swinburne University of Technology

Biological and Biotechnological Sciences

Professor Merlin Crossley
University of New South Wales

Medical and Health Sciences

Professor Terry Nolan
University of Melbourne

A brief biography for each of the Chairs is available from the Excellence in Research for Australia page on the ARC website.

"The REC Chairs have a central role in the ERA processes, and the ARC is delighted with the appointment of this distinguished group of researchers," said Professor Yates.

"They collectively bring considerable experience and ability which will ensure that ERA evaluations are of the highest standard."

Professor Yates also thanked the sector for continued contributions to the conduct of ERA. He said that the ARC has received a significant number of nominations (of researchers from Australia and overseas) across a range of disciplines for membership of the Research Evaluation Committees, and work was underway to ensure the strongest possible membership for ERA 2015. An announcement of the full membership will be made in the next few months.

The ERA 2015 evaluation will open for submissions in February 2015. For more information visit the Excellence in Research for Australia page on the ARC website.

Media contact:
ARC Stakeholder Relations
0412 623 056 or communications@arc.gov.au