23 January 2013

Leader of the Government in the Senate
Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Science and Research


New members appointed to ARC Advisory Council

Science and Research Minister, Senator Chris Evans, today announced the appointment of five new members to the Australian Research Council (ARC) Advisory Council.

“The ARC Advisory Council was established in 2008 and since that time has played a key role in providing independent advice to drive positive change in the research sector and support innovation in Australia,” Senator Evans said.

“The work of the Advisory Council has been instrumental in improving the strategic direction of the ARC.

“I thank outgoing members of the Advisory Council—Professors Margaret Harding, Amanda Lawson and Ian Young—for their hard work and dedication to the advancement of the ARC and the research sector.

“The new Advisory Council will continue to play a key role in guiding the Gillard Government’s record investment in science and research, including close to $880 million in ARC Discovery and Linkage grants this financial year.”

New members of the Advisory Council are:

  • Professor Attila Brungs, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research), University of Technology Sydney 
  • Dr Leigh Farrell, Vice President, Business Development, Biota Holdings Ltd 
  • Professor Sandra Harding, Vice-Chancellor and President, James Cook University 
  • Professor Suzanne Miller, Director, South Australian Museum 
  • Professor Sue Thomas, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research), Charles Sturt University

Professor Aidan Byrne will remain Chair of the Advisory Council, as the Chief Executive Officer of the ARC. Professors Peter Buckskin, Stephen Garton and Paul Johnson will continue as members of the Advisory Council.

Council members are appointed for two years and advise on:

  • strategic issues relating to the mission of the ARC, including strategic planning 
  • policy matters relating to innovation, research and research training 
  • matters relating to the evaluation of the quality and outcomes of research and research training in an international context.

For more information on the ARC Advisory Council and the new members, visit www.arc.gov.au.

Senator Evans’ Media Contact: 
Amy McKenna 0408 570 603