The Australian Laureate Fellowships scheme reflects the Commonwealth’s commitment to support excellence in research by attracting world-class researchers and research leaders to key positions, and creating new rewards and incentives for the application of their talents in Australia.

Open to applications from outstanding researchers of international repute, the Australian Laureate Fellowships scheme encourages proposals involving Australian or international researchers by providing eligible Australian Laureate Fellows with project funding in addition to a salary supplement and salary-related (on-cost) support.

Up to 17 Australian Laureate Fellowships may be awarded each year, including fellowships allocated to exceptional female researchers who will also undertake an ambassadorial role to promote women in research. Preference will be given to researchers who will play a significant, sustained leadership and mentoring role in building Australia's internationally competitive research capacity.

The Administering Organisation (which may include Australian higher education institutions and some Australian publicly funded research institutions) will appoint the Australian Laureate Fellow as a Professor (Level E) or equivalent and provide the relevant salary.

One call for submission of Australian Laureate Fellowships proposals is made each year.

Please visit the profile page for Kathleen Fitzpatrick and Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellows for further information on their research, ambassadorial and mentoring role.

Key Dates for Australian Laureate Fellowships 2017

  • Release of Funding Rules: 22 September 2016
  • Proposals Open: 5 October 2016
  • Request Not to Assess Close: 16 November 2016
  • Proposals Close: 30 November 2016
  • Rejoinders: Open 14 February 2017—Close 5.00pm (AEDT) 28 February 2017
  • Anticipated announcement: June/July 2017