The ARC is a dynamic agency with a dedicated, committed and talented cohort of people engaging in responsibilities to deliver policy and programs that advance Australian research and innovation globally and benefit the community. Leading our agency is a mix of inspiring academics—this includes our Chief Executive Officer and three professorial-level Executive Directors with strong research backgrounds. They are supported by our Executive General Manager and Branch Manager, along with roughly 100 public servants.

On this page, you will find links to the profiles of senior management personnel and an overview of our corporate structure. 

Profiles of ARC Senior Management

ARC CEO Sue Thomas Ms Leanne Harvey Ms Kylie Emery Ms Julija Deleva Ms Sarah Howard Luke Cattle
Professor Sue Thomas 
Chief Executive Officer
Ms Leanne Harvey 
Executive General Manager
Ms Kylie Emery
Branch Manager (Policy and Strategy)

Ms Julija Deleva
Acting Branch Manager (Corporate Services)

Ms Sarah Howard
Branch Manager
(Research Excellence)

Mr Luke Cattle
Acting Chief Financial Officer

Mr Peter Conn
Chief Information Officer
Ms Judy Satrapa Chief Program Officer

Profiles of ARC Executive Directors

The Executive Directors at the ARC play an important role in providing strategic policy and operational advice, outreach with the higher education and research sector, along with specific funding scheme and discipline expertise. They are drawn from academia to ensure the ARC has strong expertise from the sector we support. 

Prof Therese Jefferson Professor Joanne Tompkins
Professor Stephen Buckman
Executive Director
Physical Sciences, Engineering, 
Mathematics and 
Information Sciences
Professor Therese Jefferson
Executive Director
Social, Behavioural and Economic Sciences

Dr Robert Mun 
Executive Director
Engineering and Information Sciences

Professor Joanne Tompkins
Executive Director
Humanities and Creative Arts