Linkage Projects 2020 Round 3 Announcement Banner

ARC-funded researchers shine at 2023 PM’s Prizes for Science

ARC-funded researchers shine at 2023 PM’s Prizes for Science

Black and white Australian Research Council Logo for Media Release


17 October 2023

ARC-funded researchers shine at 2023 PM’s Prizes for Science


The Australian Research Council (ARC) congratulates all the winners of the 2023 Prime Minister's Prizes for Science awards announced last night.

ARC Chief Executive Officer, Ms Judi Zielke PSM extended special congratulations to the five researchers who have received support through the funding schemes of the ARC’s National Competitive Grants Program (NCGP).

“The ARC funds research excellence from the early years of an academic’s career, right through to supporting blue-sky research, and applied practical research, training, collaboration and infrastructure.”

“This is a further demonstration that ARC’s NCGP is value for money and delivers world class research that is recognised at the highest levels,” said Ms Zielke.

The ARC-funded winners include:   

ARC Laureate Fellow Professor Michelle Simmons AO from the University of New South Wales (UNSW) and the ARC Centre of Excellence for Translational Photosynthesis has been awarded the $250 000 2023 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science. Professor Simmons AO is Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence in Quantum Computation and Communication Technology at UNSW. The Centre leads the world in the fundamental science, engineering and commercial implementation of silicon and optical quantum computing and quantum communications technologies.

Professor Glenn King from the University of Queensland has received the 2023 Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation. Professor King is the Chief Investigator at the ARC Centre of Excellence for Innovations in Peptide and Protein Science — world renowned for building critical understanding of peptides and proteins and the exploration of their potential to address challenges in health, agriculture and industry.

Monash University’s Professor Chris Greening has received the 2023 Frank Fenner Prize of Life Scientist of the Year. Professor Greening was an ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award recipient and is now Chief Investigator at the ARC Research Hub for Carbon Utilisation and Recycling, and Securing Antarctica’s Environmental Future, which is funded under ARC’s Special Research Initiative grant scheme. Professor Greening’s research focuses on the causes and consequences of bacterial persistence.

Professor Yuerui (Larry) Lu from the Australian National University has received the 2023 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year. Professor Lu has received an ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award and two Linkage Infrastructure, Equipment and Facilities grants supporting his nanoscience and nanotechnology research.

Griffith University’s Associate Professor Lara Herrero has received the 2023 Prize for New Innovators. As an ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award recipient, Associate Professor Herrero pioneered a new field of study — mosquito-transmitted viruses and paved the way for further exciting studies in the field.

For more information about all 2023 prize recipients and their research achievements, visit the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science website. For more information about ARC funding schemes, visit the ARC website

Media contact: 

ARC Communications 0412 623 056 or   

Back to top