Linkage Projects 2020 Round 3 Announcement Banner

New ARC Advisory Committee established

New ARC Advisory Committee established

Australian Government - Australian Research Council logo - Media Release

5 April 2022

New ARC Advisory Committee established

The Australian Research Council (ARC) Acting Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Ms Judi Zielke has welcomed the establishment of the new ARC Advisory Committee by the Acting Minister for Education and Youth.

The Committee will provide insight and advice to the CEO on the ARC’s strategic agenda and functions. This will contribute significantly to the ARC’s governance and effectiveness and support the reform of its research programs to ensure they are innovative and fit for purpose for the sector as well as aligned with Government priorities.

The Committee is comprised of leaders from across universities, industry and government. The independent Chair, Professor Chris Moran, will oversee the Committee and provide direct support to the CEO.

The ARC Advisory Committee is:

  • Professor Chris Moran FTSE, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research, Curtin University (Chair)
  • Dr Mirjana Prica, Managing Director of Food Innovation Australia Limited
  • Professor Michelle Simmons AO, Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology, The University of New South Wales
  • Professor Mark Hutchinson, Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics, University of Adelaide
  • Professor Calum Drummond AO, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation and Vice-President, RMIT University
  • Distinguished Professor Maggie Walter, Commissioner, Yoorrook Justice Commission, Victoria
  • Mr Mark McKenzie, Director, Council of Small Business Organisations Australia
  • Professor Deborah Terry AO, Vice Chancellor and President, University of Queensland
  • Mr Tony Cook PSM, Deputy Secretary (ex officio representative from Department of Education, Skills and Employment)
  • Mr David Williamson, Deputy Secretary (ex officio representative from the Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources)

“The ARC recognises the importance of working with experts across the higher education and research sector, and those with industry and end-user experience.” Ms Zielke said.

“I look forward to receiving strategic advice from the group to improve governance, drive reform, and to maximise the benefits of ARC funded research for all Australians.” 

The Committee is a designated committee under the Australian Research Council Act 2001 and builds on the membership and expertise of the previous ARC Advisory Council.

For more information about the committee visit the Australian Research Council website.

Media contact:
ARC Communications
0412 623 056 or

Back to top